Orange Alert

Biology Department People

 

Faculty

Yasir Ahmed_9357.jpg Yasir Ahmed-Braimah Assistant Professor Biology yahmed@syr.edu 315.443.1564
Abrar(Abbi) Adnan Aljiboury Abrar (Abbi) Adnan Aljiboury Professor of Practice and Manager of the Blatt BioImaging Center Biology aaatiyaa@syr.edu
David Althoff 2.jpeg David M. Althoff Associate Professor and Associate Chair Biology dmalthof@syr.edu 315.443.1096
Katie M. Becklin Katie M. Becklin Assistant Professor Biology kmbeckli@syr.edu 315.443.2155
Melanie-Blanden.PNG Melanie Jane Blanden Assistant Teaching Professor and Director of Undergraduate Program Biology mblanden@syr.edu
Carlos-Castanada@72.jpg Carlos A. Castañeda Associate Professor Biology Chemistry cacastan@syr.edu 315.443.3673
Heather-Coleman Heather D. Coleman Associate Professor Biology hcoleman@syr.edu 315.443.0453
jen-cook.jpg Jen Cook Assistant Teaching Professor of Neuroscience, Primary Advisor to Neuroscience ILM Students Biology jcook08@syr.edu
Dana Cusano Dana Cusano Research Assistant Professor Biology dcusano@syr.edu
Steve Dorus Steve Dorus Professor Biology sdorus@syr.edu 315.443.7091
Scott Erdman Scott Erdman Associate Professor Biology seerdman@syr.edu 315.443.3748
Christopher-Fernandez Christopher W. Fernandez Assistant Professor Biology cferna10@syr.edu 315.443.3098
AM Garner.png Austin M. Garner Assistant Professor Biology agarner@syr.edu 315.443.5816
sarah-hall-portrait-original.jpg Sarah E. Hall Associate Professor Biology shall@syr.edu 315.443.2964
Heidi Hehnly Heidi Hehnly Renée Crown Professor in the Sciences and Mathematics and Associate Professor Biology hhehnly@syr.edu 315.443.2159
james-hewett-portrait-original.JPG James Hewett Associate Professor, Executive Director of Neuroscience Studies, and Director of Neuroscience Graduate Concentration Biology Forensic Science Neuroscience jhewett@syr.edu 315.443.9613
Hougland, James.jpg James Hougland Professor and Biochemistry Director Biology Chemistry hougland@syr.edu 315.443.1134
Frants-Jensen.jpg Frants Havmand Jensen Research Assistant Professor Biology Frants.jensen@gmail.com 732.579.7692
Jamie Lamit Louis James (Jamie) Lamit Assistant Professor Biology ljlamit@syr.edu 315.443.3760
Kate-Lewis Katharine (Kate) Lewis Professor Biology kelewi02@syr.edu 315.443.5902
sarah_lucas_cropped Sarah Kathleen Lucas Assistant Professor Biology sklucas@syr.edu 315.443.1465
Jessica MacDonald Jessica MacDonald Associate Professor Biology jemacdon@syr.edu 315.443.5837
lauren-mavica Lauren Mavica Associate Teaching Professor of Neuroscience, Director of Neuroscience ILM, and Advisor to Neuroscience ILM Students Biology Neuroscience lwmavica@syr.edu
vera-mcilvain-profile-original.jpg Vera McIlvain Associate Teaching Professor Biology vamcilva@syr.edu 315.443.3923
Behzad Mortazavi 1x1 Behzad Mortazavi Dean of Arts and Sciences and Professor of Biology A&S Dean's Cabinet Biology behzadm@syr.edu 315.443.3949
Allison Oakes Allison DeAlton Oakes Assistant Teaching Professor Biology adoakes@syr.edu 315.443.2479
angela_oliverio.jpg Angela M. Oliverio Assistant Professor Biology amoliver@syr.edu
susan-parks-portrait-original.jpg Susan E. Parks Professor Biology sparks@syr.edu 315.443.4007
melissa-pepling-microscope.jpg Melissa E. Pepling Professor and Chair Biology mepeplin@syr.edu 315.443.4541
Scott Pitnick not-cropped.jpg Scott Pitnick Weeden Professor of Biology Biology sspitnic@syr.edu 315.443.5128
ramesh-raina-portrait-original.jpg Ramesh Raina Professor Biology raraina@syr.edu 315.443.4546
surabhi-raina-portrait-original.jpg Surabhi Raina Associate Teaching Professor Biology sraina@syr.edu 315.443.2057
Kari A. Segraves Kari A. Segraves Professor Biology ksegrave@syr.edu 315.443.4899
yassine-khalfalli-unsplash.jpg Robert B. Silver Professor Biology Forensic Science rbsilver@syr.edu 315.443.1328
julia-snyder-profile-original-outdoors.jpg Julia Snyder Assistant Teaching Professor Biology jjseymou@syr.edu 315.443.2038
Placeholder-500x.jpg Roy D. Welch Professor Biology rowelch@syr.edu 315.443.7197
Michele Wheatly_2564 Michele G. Wheatly Professor of Biology, Former Provost Biology mwheatly@syr.edu 315.443.6123
jason-wiles-portrait-original-20190222.jpg Jason R. Wiles Associate Professor Biology jwiles01@syr.edu 315.443.3193

Part-Time Faculty

dgreen David Green Part-time Instructor Biology dgreen20@syr.edu
Xinbei-Liu Xinbei Liu Part-Time Instructor Biology xliu65@syr.edu

Emeriti

john-belote-portrait-original.jpg John Belote Emeritus Professor Biology jbelote@syr.edu 315.443.3695
Chan, Samuel.jpg Samuel H.P. Chan Emeritus Professor Biology sachan@syr.edu 315.443.3182
marvin-druger-portrait-original.jpg Marvin Druger Emeritus Professor Biology mdruger@syr.edu 315.443.9150
thomas-fondy-portrait-original.jpg Thomas P. Fondy Emeritus Professor Biology tpfondy@syr.edu 315.443.2615
Douglas A. Frank Douglas A. Frank Professor Emeritus Biology dafrank@syr.edu
anthony-garza-portrait-original.jpg Anthony Garza Professor Emeritus Biology agarza@syr.edu 315.443.4746
Richard L. Hallberg Richard L. Hallberg Emeritus Professor Biology hallberg@syr.edu 315.443.1104
hewett-sandra-portrait-original.jpg Sandra Hewett Beverly Petterson Bishop Professor Emerita of Neuroscience and Professor of Biology Biology Neuroscience shewett@syr.edu 315.443.9657
george-langford-portrait-original.jpg George M. Langford Professor Emeritus of Biology Biology glangfor@syr.edu 315.443.7657
photo-not-available.jpg H. Richard Levy Emeritus Professor Biology hrlevy@syr.edu 315.443.3181
Eleanor-Maine.jpg Eleanor Maine Professor Emerita Biology emmaine@syr.edu 315.443.9169
photo-not-available.jpg John M. Russell Emeritus Professor Biology jrussell@syr.edu
William T. Starmer William T. Starmer Emeritus Professor Biology wstarmer@syr.edu N/A
photo-not-available.jpg Larry L. Wolf Emeritus Professor Biology llwolf@syr.edu N/A

Faculty Affiliates

Jeffrey-Amack.jpg Jeffrey Amack Associate Research Professor amackj@upstate.edu 315.464.8507
robert-doyle-portrait-original.jpg Robert P. Doyle Jack and Laura H. Milton Professor and Dean's Professor of Chemistry Chemistry rpdoyle@syr.edu 315.443.3584
Brian-Howell.jpg Brian W. Howell Associate Professor of Neuroscience and Physiology, Upstate Medical University howellb@upstate.edu 315.464.8154
Zhen-Ma_8008_600x560_acf_cropped-1-300x280.jpg Zhen Ma Assistant Professor, Biomedical & Chemical Engineering Department zma112@syr.edu
m-lisa-manning-portrait-original.jpg M. Lisa Manning William R. Kenan, Jr. Professor of Physics Physics mmanning@syr.edu 315.443.3920
Michael-Marciano Michael Marciano Professor of Practice and Director for Forensics Research Forensic Science mamarcia@syr.edu 315.443.5279
Rick-Matthews-2022.jpg Dr. Russell (Rick) T. Matthews Research Associate Professor, Associate Professor, Department of Neuroscience and Psychology SUNY Upstate matthewr@upstate.edu 315.464.7766
FMiddleton.png Frank Middleton Professor of Neuroscience and Physiology, Upstate Medical University middletf@upstate.edu 315.464.7721
mirna-skanata.jpg Mirna Mihovilovic Skanata Assistant Professor of Physics Physics mmihovil@syr.edu
Chilukuri-300x280.jpg Chilukuri Mohan Professor Electrical Engineering & Computer Science ckmohan@syr.edu 315.443.2322
Mary-Beth-Monroe-300x280 Mary Beth Browning Monroe Assistant Professor mbmonroe@syr.edu 315.443.3323
Liviu-Movileanu Liviu Movileanu Professor Physics lmovilea@syr.edu 315.443.8078
Mozhdehi, Davoud.jpg Davoud Mozhdehi Associate Professor Chemistry dmozhdeh@syr.edu 315.443.3105
Screen Shot Olson 2022-03-28 at 12.24.21 PM_9dzbnJu.png Eric Olson Associate Research Professor, Associate Professor, Department of Neuroscience and Physiology, SUNY Upstate olsone@upstate.edu 315.464.7776
Patteson 2 Alison Patteson Associate Professor Physics aepattes@syr.edu
Latha Ramalingam Latha Ramalingam Assistant Professor, Nutrition & Food Sciences lramalin@syr.edu 315.443.9324
dacheng-ren-portrait-original.jpg Dacheng Ren Professor, Biomedical & Chemical Engineering dren@syr.edu 315.443.4409
Ross-Jennifer.jpg Jennifer Ross Professor and Department Chair Physics jlross@syr.edu 315.443.3894
Tso_Daniel2019_uL2pgFO.jpg Daniel Tso Associate Research Professor, Director, Neurosurgery Research Laboratories, Associate Professor, Department of Neurosurgery, SUNY Upstate dan@tsolab.org 315.464.5531

Postdoctoral Researchers

photo-not-available.jpg Renuka Agarwal Postdoctoral Researcher Biology ragarw04@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Nikhilesh Dhar Postdoctoral Researcher Biology ndhar@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Roberto Gomez Postdoctoral Researcher Biology rgomez02@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Anke Kuegler Postdoctoral Scholar Biology akuegler@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Taya Misheva Postdoctoral Researcher Biology amisheva@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Maria Ow Postdoctoral Researcher Biology mcow@syr.edu 315.443.3186
Ashis Sinha.jpg Ashis Sinha Postdoctoral Researcher: MacDonald Lab Biology assinha@syr.edu
Zeeshan-syed-portrait-bw.jpg Zeeshan Syed Research Associate Biology zesyed@syr.edu 315.443.3186
photo-not-available.jpg Ian Vasconcellos Caldas Postdoctoral Researcher Biology iavascon@syr.edu
Benjamin-Wasiljew Benjamin Wasiljew Postdoctoral Researcher Biology bdwasilj@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Yan Wu Postdoctoral Researcher Biology ywu183@syr.edu

Staff

Kelly-Condon.jpg Kelly Condon Budget Support Associate Biology kacondon@syr.edu 315.443.1360
Mary-Graziano Mary Graziano BIO 121/123 Lab Manager Biology mgrazian@syr.edu 315.443.9179
photo-not-available.jpg Ginny Grieb Building/Lab Coordinator Biology gmgrieb@syr.edu 315.443.3239
photo-not-available.jpg Felix Grimberg Research Technician (Fernandez) Biology fgrimber@syr.edu
Molly Kenyon Molly Kenyon Office Coordinator Biology mskenyon@syr.edu 315.443.3047
photo-not-available.jpg Angelica Kowalchuk Lab Assistant (MacDonald) Biology amkowalc@syr.edu 315.443.7253
Kenny Moss Headshot_IQndFCY Kenny Moss Undergraduate Academic Support Coordinator Biology kpmoss@syr.edu 315.443.9139
Tina Orlando - Academic Coordinator.jpg Tina Orlando Graduate Academic Support Coordinator Biology tiorland@syr.edu 315.443.3722
Sarah Paschkes website profile pic Sarah Paschkes Administrative Assistant Biology spaschke@syr.edu 315.443.2157
photo-not-available.jpg Karina Primeau Research Technician (Lamit) Biology kmprimea@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Hannah Rappaport Research Technician (Oliverio) Biology hbrappap@syr.edu
Yazmin Rodiguez Yazmin Rodriguez Budget Support Associate Biology yjrodrig@syr.edu 315.443.7682
tracy-steele-portrait-original.jpg Tracy Steele Operations Specialist Biology tlsteele@syr.edu 315.443.3922
Billie Trapani Billie Trapani Lab Administrator (Hehnly Lab) Biology batrapan@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Sierra Weil Research Assistant (Garner) Biology sjweil@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Brett Woodworth Lab Technician (Lewis) Biology bhwoodwo@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Kevin Yongblah Research Technician (Hall & Maine) Biology keyongbl@syr.edu

Graduate Students

Dana Adcock Dana Adcock Graduate Student(Parks) Biology dladcock@syr.edu
Agarwala.jpeg Amisha Agarwala Graduate Student (Ahmed-Braimah) Biology aagarwal@syr.edu
stephen-ajayi.jpg Stephen Ajayi Graduate Student (Korol) Biology soajayi@syr.edu
Andonova, Antoaneta.jpg Antoaneta Andonova Graduate Student (J. Hewett) Biology aaandono@syr.edu 315.443.2913
Arnell, Chris.jpg Christopher (CJ) Arnell Graduate Student (MacDonald) Biology carnell@syr.edu 315.443.7292
Asubonteng, Agnes.jpg Agnes Asubonteng Graduate Student (Pepling) Biology aaasubon@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Zethus Avery Graduate Student (Ahmed-Braimah) Biology clavery@syr.edu
Benway photo Rachel Benway Graduate Student (Lamit) Biology rbenway@syr.edu
Karan Bhatt - Graduate Student.jpg Karan Bhatt Graduate Student (Dorus/Pitnick ) Biology kbhatt@syr.edu
Sara Brigida Sara Brigida Graduate Student (MacDonald) Biology smbrigid@syr.edu
Joseph Colbert - Graduate Student.jpg Joseph Colbert Graduate Student (Coleman) Biology jbcolber@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Frances (Franki) Compere Graduate Student (Hall) Biology fvcomper@syr.edu 315.443.2972
James-Crill-portrait-lores.jpg James Crill Biology PhD student (Welch) Biology jcrillii@syr.edu 315.443.3569
Savannah Davis Savannah Davis Graduate Student (Hall) Biology sdavis46@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Alex Eschmann Graduate Student (Parks) Biology ajeschma@syr.edu
Jiali-He.png Jiali He Graduate Student (S. Hewett) Biology jhe104@syr.edu 315.443.2743
Abigail-Hiltke.jpg Abigail Hiltke Graduate Student (Ritchie) Biology ahiltke@syr.edu
Hockenbury, Dominic.jpg Dominic Hockenbury Graduate Student (Ahmed-Braimah) Biology dghocken@syr.edu
Thomas Wayne Johnson Thomas Johnson Graduate Student (Segraves) Biology tjohns13@syr.edu 315.443.5449
Johnston photo Brooke Johnston Graduate Student (Althoff) Biology bjohns50@syr.edu
Leanne Kelley Leanne Kelley Graduate Student (Maine) Biology lhkelley@syr.edu
trosporsha-khan_1gqktZO.jpg Trosporsha Khan Graduate Student (Welch) Biology trkhan@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Nasim Khatibi Graduate Student (MacDonald) Biology nkhatibi@syr.edu
Elise Krespan - Graduate Student.JPG Elise Krespan Graduate Student (Coleman) Biology emkrespa@syr.edu
Lan, Yiling.jpeg Yiling Lan Graduate Student (Hehnly) Biology ylan03@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Julie LeVonne Graduate Student (Fridley) Biology jvlevonn@syr.edu
Maisva, Takunda.jpg Takunda Maisva Graduate Student (Wiles) Biology tmaisva@syr.edu
Susan Moradi Nasab Susan Moradi Nasab Graduate Student (Ma) Biology smoradin@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Andrew Moura Graduate Student (Garner) Biology amoura@syr.edu
Murray photo Miranda Murray Graduate Student (Lamit) Biology mmurra20@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Andrew Nicholson Graduate Student (Dorus) Biology asnichol@syr.edu
Ononiwu updated photo Favour Ononiwu Graduate Student (Hehnly) Biology fcononiw@syr.edu
Perez, Valeria.jpeg Valeria Perez Graduate Student (Parks) Biology vperez03@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Caroline Plecki Graduate Student (Fernandez) Biology cfplecki@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Kirsten Rasmussen Graduate Student (Pepling) Biology karasmus@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Olivia Rojo Nava Graduate Student (Oliverio) Biology orojonav@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Isabel Ross Graduate Student (Hall) Biology iross@syr.edu
Stephanie Schmid_TIoTwxj Stephanie Schmid Graduate Student (Fernandez) Biology sschmid@syr.edu
Nimshika Senewiratne Nimshika Senewiratne Graduate Student (Oliverio) Biology npsenewi@syr.edu
Rachel Shepherd Rachel Shepherd Graduate Student (Oliverio) Biology rmshephe@syr.edu
Dylan-Sims-West.jpg Dylan Sims-West Graduate Student (Pitnick/Dorus) Biology djsimswe@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Samantha Sutton Graduate Student (S. Hewett) Biology sosutton@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Sara Tennant Graduate Student (Parks) Biology sctennan@syr.edu
Dan Wang Dan Wang Graduate Student (Coleman) Biology dwang36@syr.edu
Peter-Wengert.jpg Peter Wengert Graduate Student (Dorus) Biology pwengert@syr.edu
Zeh, Julia.jpeg Julia Zeh Graduate Student (Parks) Biology jzeh01@syr.edu