Orange Alert

People

Department Chair

Faculty

amanda-brown-portrait-original.jpg Amanda Brown Professor, Linguistics and Linguistics Studies Program Director Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics abrown08@syr.edu
gail-bulman-portrait-original.jpg Gail A. Bulman Professor, Spanish and Department Chair Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics gabulman@syr.edu 315.443.5901
jeffrey-carnes-portrait-original.jpg Jeffrey S. Carnes Associate Professor, Classics and Classical Civilizations, and Language Coordinator Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics jscarnes@syr.edu
joseph-denn-portrait-original.jpg Joseph Denn Assistant Teaching Professor, English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics jwdenn@syr.edu
mona-eikel-pohen-portrait-original.jpg Mona Eikel-Pohen Associate Teaching Professor, German; Modern Foreign Language Coordinator Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics meikelpo@syr.edu
kathryn-everly-portait-original-2016.jpg Kathryn A. Everly Professor, Spanish Language Literature and Culture; Spanish Program Coodinator Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics keverly@syr.edu
Ken Frieden Ken Frieden B.G. Rudolph Professor of Judaic Studies English Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics Religion kfrieden@syr.edu 315.443.3861
myrna-garcia-calderon-portrait-original.jpg Myrna García-Calderón Associate Professor, Spanish Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics mygarcia@syr.edu
stefano-giannini-portrait-original.jpg Stefano Giannini Associate Professor, Italian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics giannini@syr.edu 315.443.2136
Christopher Green Christopher Green Associate Professor, Linguistics Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics cgreen10@syr.edu
Gerry-Greenberg Gerald R. Greenberg Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs; Humanities; Curriculum, Instruction, and Programs; Associate Professor, Russian and Linguistics A&S Curriculum/Instruction A&S Dean's Cabinet Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics ggreenbe@syr.edu 315.443.2875
lin-guo-portrait-original.jpg Lin Guo Assistant Teaching Professor, English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics lguo06@syr.edu
Erika-Haber Erika Haber Professor, Russian Language, Literature, and Culture; Russian Program Coordinator; and Undergraduate Advisor Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics ehaber@syr.edu
rania-habib-portrait-original.jpg Rania Habib Professor, Arabic and Linguistics; Arabic Progam Coordinator Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics rhabib@syr.edu
matthew-hammill-portrait-original.jpg Matthew Hammill Assistant Professor, English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL); Language and Program Coordinator Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics mjhammil@syr.edu
jean-jonassaint-portrait-original.jpg Jean Jonassaint Professor, French and Francophone Studies Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics jjonassa@syr.edu 315.443.5382
elizabeth-juarez-cummings-portrait-original.jpg Elizabeth Juarez-Cummings Associate Teaching Professor, Spanish; Portuguese Language Coordinator and Spanish Language Coordinator Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics enjuarez@syr.edu
Byungsam-Jung Byungsam Jung Assistant Teaching Professor, Russian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics byjung@syr.edu
Nicole Karam.jpg Nicole G. Karam Assistant Teaching Professor, French and Francophone Studies and Language Coordinator Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics ngharr01@syr.edu
youmie-kim-portrait-original.jpg Youmie J. Kim Assistant Professor, English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL); Language and Program Coordinator Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics ykim27@syr.edu
jaklin-kornfilt-portrait-informal.jpg Jaklin Kornfilt Professor, Linguistics and Turkish Program Coordinator Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics kornfilt@syr.edu 315.443.5375
robert-lally-portrait-original.JPG Robert Lally Assistant Teaching Professor, English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics rlally@syr.edu
anne-leone-portrait-original.JPG Anne Leone Assistant Professor, Italian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics aleone@syr.edu
laura-lisnyczyj-portrait-original.jpg Laura Lisnyczyj Assistant Teaching Professor, English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics ladistef@syr.edu
ana-mendez-oliver-portrait-original.jpg Ana Mendez-Oliver Assistant Professor, Spanish, Hispanic Literatures and Cultures Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics amendezo@syr.edu 315.443.5378
kenji-oda-portrait-original.jpg Kenji Oda Assistant Teaching Professor, Linguistics Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics koda100@syr.edu
Pardo Porto Cristina E. Pardo Porto Assistant Professor, Latinx Literature and Culture Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics cepardop@syr.edu
alicia-rios-portrait-original.JPG Alicia B. Ríos Associate Professor, Spanish Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics abrios@syr.edu
denis-samburskiy-portrait-original.jpeg Denis Samburskiy Associate Teaching Professor, English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics dsamburs@syr.edu
SINGERMAN 2874 Adam Singerman Assistant Professor, Native American Linguistics Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics asingerm@syr.edu
Lauren Surovi_Headshot Lauren Surovi Assistant Teaching Professor, Italian; Language and Program Coordinator Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics lesurovi@syr.edu 315.443.9484
m-emma-ticio-queseda-portrait-original.JPG M. Emma Ticio Quesada Associate Chair and Professor, Spanish and Linguistics Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics mticioqu@syr.edu
Tsen.png Darwin Han-Lin Tsen Assistant Teaching Professor, Chinese and Chinese Language Coordinator Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics dhtsen@syr.edu
matthieu van der meer photo Matthieu Herman van der Meer Associate Teaching Professor, Classics Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics mhvander@syr.edu
karina-von-tippelskirch-portrait-original.jpg Karina von Tippelskirch Associate Professor, German, and German Program Coordinator Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics kvontipp@syr.edu 315.443.5383
tomoko-walter-portrait-original.jpg Tomoko Walter Japanese Instructor and Japanese Language Coordinator Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics tmwalter@syr.edu
amy-wyngaard-portrait-original.JPG Amy S. Wyngaard Professor, French and Francophone Studies and Program Coordinator Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics aswyngaa@syr.edu 315.443.5496
seungmin-yun-portrait-original-informal.jpg Seungmin Yun Associate Teaching Professor of English to Speakers of Other Languages and Korean Language Coordinator Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics syun101@syr.edu

Part-Time Faculty

photo-not-available.jpg Barbara Agazzi-Poncia Part-Time Instructor, Italian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics bagazzip@syr.edu
miryam-bar-portrait-original.jpg Miryam Bar Part-Time Instructor, French and Francophone Studies; and Spanish Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics mbarshes@syr.edu
maria-rita-barbarino-250X250.jpg Maria Rita Barbarino Part-Time Instructor, Italian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics mrbarbar@syr.edu
rosa-benavides-portrait-original.JPG Rosa Benavides Part-Time Instructor, Spanish Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics rmbenavi@syr.edu
patricia-burak-portrait-lores.jpg Patricia A. Burak Part-Time Instructor, Literature Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics paburak@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Maria Caruso Part-Time Instructor, Italian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics mccaruso@syr.edu
Katie-Clinton Kathryn Clinton Part-Time Instructor, Spanish Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics kclinton@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Arianna Contreras Part-Time Instructor, Italian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics agontre@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Gerardo Cummings Part-Time Instructor, French and Francophone Studies Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics gtcummin@syr.edu
tanya-dabrowiak-portrait-original.jpg Tania Dabrowiak Part-Time Instructor, Spanish Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics tnmordwi@syr.edu
Kennia-DeLaFeCamaraza.jpeg Kennia Delafe Part-Time Instructor, Spanish Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics kdelafe@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Robert Dodds Part-Time Instructor, Spanish Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics rmdodds@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Michal Downie Part-Time Instructor, Hebrew Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics mdownie@syr.edu
maureen-edmonds-portrait-LLL.JPG Maureen Edmonds Part-Time Instructor, English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
Elizabeth-Elton.JPG Elizabeth Eridani Part-Time Instructor, English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics eaelton@syr.edu
stephen-foulkrod-portrait-original.jpg Stephen Foulkrod Part-Time Instructor, English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics swfoulkr@syr.edu
graduate-student-image Ana Maria Guerrero Andrade Part-Time Instructor, Spanish Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics aguerrer@syr.edu
dayana-maso-hernandez.jpeg Dayana Maso Hernandez Part-Time Instructor, Spanish Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics dmasoher@syr.edu
Eleanor-Homolko-original.jpg Eleanor Homolko Part-Time Instructor, German Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics emhomolk@syr.edu
violette-humsi-portrait-original.jpeg Violette F. Humsi Part-Time Instructor, Arabic and French and Francophone Studies Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics vfhumsi@syr.edu
socorro-koseki-portrait-original.JPG Socorro Koseki Part-Time Instructor, Spanish Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics skoseki@syr.edu
kaori-laclair-portrait-original.jpg Kaori LaClair Part-Time Instructor, Japanese Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics klaclair@syr.edu
Javier-Maymi-Perez.jpg Javier Maymi-Perez Part-Time Instructor, Spanish Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics jamaymip@syr.edu
elaine-meltzer-portrait-original.jpg Elaine Meltzer Part-Time Instructor, Spanish Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics elmeltze@syr.edu
Soon-K-Min.jpg Soon K. Min Part-Time Instructor, Korean Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics smin03@syr.edu
magdelin-montenegro-portrait-original.JPG Magdelín Montenegro Part-Time Instructor, Spanish Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics mamonten@syr.edu
alastair-murray-portrait-original.jpg Alastair Murray Part-Time Instructor, English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics ahmurray@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Rima Nasr Part-Time Instructor, Arabic Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics rjnasr@syr.edu
catherine-nock-portrait-original.jpg Catherine M. Nock Part-Time Instructor, Spanish Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics cnock@syr.edu
bhanushri-sisodia-portrait-LLL.JPG Bhanushri Sisodia Part-Time Instructor, Hindi Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics bsisodia@syr.edu
erella-brown-250x250.jpg Erella Brown Sofer Part-Time Instructor, Hebrew Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics ebrownso@syr.edu
jackie-sorci-portrait-lores.jpg Jackie Sorci Part-Time Instructor, Italian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics jtsorci@syr.edu
Mary Ann Stanley_3729.jpg Mary Ann Stanley Part-Time Instructor, French and Francophon Studies Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics mstanley@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Yoko Urao Part-time Instructor, Japanese Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics yourao@syr.edu
christa-wirth-portrait-original.jpg Christa Wirth Part-Time Instructor, French and Francophon Studies Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics chwirth@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Deniz Yaman Part-Time Instructor, English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics dyaman@syr.edu

Emeriti

beverly-allen-portrait-original.jpg Beverly Allen Professor Emeritus Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics ballen@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Paul Archambault Professor Emeritus Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics archmblt@bucknell.edu
tej-bhatia-portrait-original-2019-0204.jpg Tej Bhatia Professor Emeritus, Linguistics and Hindi Program Coordinator Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics tkbhatia@syr.edu 315.443.5374
harold-jones-portrait-original.JPG Harold G. Jones Professor Emeritus Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics hgjones@syr.edu
dennis-mcort-portrait-informal.jpg Dennis McCort Professor Emeritus Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics ddmccort@gmail.com
photo-not-available.jpg William C. Ritchie Professor Emeritus Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics writchie@syr.edu

Faculty Affiliates

margaret-hermann-portrait-orig-1x1.jpg Margaret Hermann Professor, Political Science mgherman@syr.edu 315.443.4022
Hromalik photo_Jg47TdX.jpeg Christopher Hromalik Courtesy appointment, Assistant Professor of Language Education cdhromal@syr.edu

Staff

photo-not-available.jpg Janel Johnston Academic Support Coordinator Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics jjohnst5@syr.edu 315.443.1625
photo-not-available.jpg Marie K O'Leary Budget Support Associate Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics maoleary@syr.edu 315.443.1625
photo-not-available.jpg Christine Palmer Office Coordinator Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics cepalmer@syr.edu 315.443.5906
photo-not-available.jpg Jason Pope-Bayne Temporary Office Coordinator Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics jfpopeba@syr.edu 315.443.5906

Graduate Students

photo-not-available.jpg Maliheh Alaeddini Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, French Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics malaeddi@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Cisem Arda Graduate Student/Teaching Assistant (FLTA), Turkish Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics ciarda@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg William Fredy Andahua Arellan Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, Spanish Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics wfandahu@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Loretta Awuku Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, Linguistics Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics lawuku@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Agathe Baggieri Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, French and Francophone Studies Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics albaggie@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Pamela Blas Camarena Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, Spanish Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics pblascam@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Qidu Fu Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) and Linguistics Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics you@syr.edu qfu102@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Emma Goldthwait Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, Spanish Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics eegoldth@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Elise Hegarty Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics evhegart@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Jiayang Huang Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, Chinese Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics jhuan153@syr.edu
JamesA_GLBVA2v Alexandra James Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, English to Speakers of other Languages (ESOL) Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics ajames15@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Maxence Juchert Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, French Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics mjuchert@syr.edu
KalouchJoumana_SWVXtfQ Joumana Kalouch Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, French & Francophone Studies Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics jkalouch@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Hani Kang Graduate Student/Fulbright Foreign Language Teaching Assistant (FLTA), Korean Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics hkang24@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Fatemeh Khavari Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
photo-not-available.jpg Regina Kuszajewski Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, French Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics rkuszaje@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Jiaxing Lin Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics jlin172@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Katelyn Miller Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, Spanish Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics kmille66@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Catalina Nino Cordero Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, Spanish Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics cninocor@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Sylvia Page Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, Linguistics Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics spage08@syr.edu
sanchezramariz2 Linnet Sanchez Ramirez Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, Spanish Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics lsanch11@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Jose Alfredo Romero Reyna Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, Spanish Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics jromeror@syr.edu
Rollando-Kozlowski-Camille Camille Rollando-Kozlowski Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, French & Francophone Studies Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics crolland@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Joanna Ruiz Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, Spanish Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics jruiz19@syr.edu
ValasquezLorena Lorena Velásquez Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, Spanish Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics lovelasq@syr.edu
YamsuanB_afzS2nV Benjamin Louis Yamsuan Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, Linguistics, Linguistics Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics blyamsua@syr.edu
Kevin Zhang Kevin Zhang Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, Chinese Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics kzhang76@syr.edu
photo-not-available.jpg Austin Zhou Graduate Student and Teaching Assistant, English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics auzhou@syr.edu