Orange Alert

Department Chairs

Years of Service Name
1943-1946 William Ted Martin [1]
1946-1948 Steward S. Cairns
1948-1952 Department run by a committee, with Kibbey as acting chair [2]
1952-1971 Donald Kibbey
1971-1979 Erik Hemmingsen [3]
1979-1982 Jack Graver
1982-1988 Larry Lardy
1988-1994 Dan Waterman
1994-2005 Douglas Anderson
2005-2008 Terry McConnell
2008-2014 Eugene Poletsky
2014-2020 Uday Banerjee
2020-present Graham Leuschke

1. Prior to 1943 there had been separate departments of mathematics in Business, Enginering and Liberal Arts, and they were united when Martin came from MIT to be chair (source: Erik Hemmingsen, The Department of Mathematics up until about 1960). He returned to MIT in 1946, and was department chair there from 1947 to 1962. Back to top

2. According to Kibbey’s entry in American Men and Women of Science, 12th edition, he served as chair 1952-1971. I am grateful to Paul Gilbert for the following information. When Cairns left the Department in 1948, "the department was run by a committee. It made the ‘important’ decisions, but Don did the nitty-gritty work, really as an acting chairman under the watchful eye of the committee". Don Kibbey’s service as chair of the Mathematics Department had no fixed term and ended in 1971, when he was promoted to Vice-President for Research and Dean of the Graduate School. He served 6 years until his retirement from the University in 1977. Back to top

3. Erik Hemmingsen was first elected for a 5-year term, and then for another 3-year term. The Constitution committee was elected in spring 1971, met during the following fall semester, reported its proposed constitution in early 1972 at a faculty meeting, and that document was accepted in a subsequent secret ballot. Although the Constitution specifies that the chair should be elected with a term of office, it does not specify that term. In practice since the constitution was approved in 1972, all terms have been for 3 years. Back to top

—P. T. Church 9/30/01