Orange Alert

42 A&S Students Receive 2023 Spring SOURCE and Honors Grants

Undergraduates are awarded up to $7,500 in support for research projects.

June 13, 2023, by Kerrie Marshall

These awards help undergraduates dive deeper into topics through research.

Forty-two College of Arts and Sciences (A&S) students have been awarded grants from the Syracuse Office of Undergraduate Research and Creative Engagement (SOURCE), the Renée Crown University Honors Program, and the Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (LSAMP). The awards help undergraduates dive deeper into topics they are interested in while improving their critical thinking and problem-solving skills. SOURCE, Honors, and LSAMP grants give undergraduates valuable experiential learning opportunities, helping them apply classroom learning to original research under the mentorship of faculty.

In the SOURCE/Honors application cycle, there were 88 proposals and 73 award recipients from across Syracuse University schools and colleges. Including LSAMP awards, there were 41 total recipients from A&S. A team of faculty reviewed and rated the applications. The majors of students whose applications were selected encompassed both the humanities and sciences, including biology, biotechnology, chemistry, communication sciences and disorders, environment, sustainability and policy, Earth and environmental sciences, ethics, forensic science, geography, history, linguistics, modern foreign language, neuroscience, physics, political science, psychology, Spanish language and culture and women's and gender studies.

In addition, 23 A&S projects have been awarded SOURCE Research Assistant Grants, which will fund the hiring of undergraduate students to take part in the faculty’s ongoing research. These grants support students' sustained research within their discipline while working toward their Edge certification. This A&S | Maxwell program provides students with two or more experiential learning components, bolstering their readiness for a career or graduate school.

SOURCE awards aim to foster and support diverse undergraduate engagement in faculty-guided scholarly research and creative inquiry. Students get experience and training in designing and revising original and timely research and creative projects. The program bolsters the University’s standing as a leading and inclusive research institution that prioritizes student engagement, while also offering resources to facilitate the active involvement of undergraduate students in research. The next application cycle for academic year 2023-24 will run in September and October. Find out more on the SOURCE website.

A&S SOURCE Student Fellowship Recipients and Majors

Sevara Abduvalieva, Biotechnology

Daving Archange, Biology

Nicholas Bouton, Biology

Evan Coles, Chemistry

Elizabeth Fox, Communication Sciences and Disorders

Leah Fried, Biology

Jadon Garofalo, Physics and Neuroscience

Nadia Gaytan, Biology and Neuroscience

Deandre Gutierrez, Environmental Sciences

Ngoc Huynh, Biology

Mitchell Mazza, Neuroscience and Psychology

Maggie Middleton, Communication Sciences and Disorders

Chidera Olalere, Biochemistry

Lucy Olcott, Chemistry

Kristen Rodecker, Biology

Jordan Ruddell, CSD, Neuroscience

Mokhinur Sobirova, Biology

Taylor Stubitsch, Biochemistry

Caine Taft, Biochemistry

A&S Renée Crown University Honors Program Student Crown Award Recipients and Majors

Faith Akoachere, Biochemistry

Christian Bevilacqua, Geography

Anna Cally, Biochemistry

Sophie Clinton, Political Science, Women’s and Gender Studies, Spanish Language and Culture

Ashley Issak, Biology and Neuroscience

Yvonne Kuo, Psychology and Forensic Science

Katherine Miles, Linguistics and Modern Foreign Languages

Madeline Pietrowski, Biology and Psychology

Katarina Sako, Neuroscience and Biology

Eden Stratton, Political Science

Matthew Snyder, Psychology and Neuroscience

Madison Wallace, Biochemistry and Neuroscience

Noor Zamamiri, Biology and Neuroscience

Dabar Zarzuela, Biology

A&S SOURCE/Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (LSAMP) Fellowship Recipients and Majors

Alana Fleming, Biotechnology and Neuroscience

Ariana Martin, Physics

Vanessa Noi, Biochemistry

Zikora L. Nnam, Neuroscience

Kadin Person, Biology

Catherine Solis, Biology and Neuroscience

Elijah Springer, Biotechnology

Ryann Washington, Biology and Forensic Science

A&S Patricia A. Wood, M.D., Ph.D., Spinoza Award

Olivia Wang, Biology and Ethics

Media Contact

Kerrie Marshall