Orange Alert

Arts and Sciences students, faculty reap year-end honors

Dozens of people recognized for academic and civic excellence

May 2, 2013, by Rob Enslin

As the 2012-13 academic year draws to a close, Syracuse University’s College of Arts and Sciences wishes to recognize the many students and faculty members who have garnered top honors and awards. Among them are Meredith Professor James T. Spencer, who has received the Chancellor’s Citation for Excellence, as well as this year’s senior class marshals and SU Scholars.

“I am extremely proud of these students and faculty members, whose regard for others and for academic rigor exemplifies the spirit of The College,” says Arts and Sciences Dean George M. Langford. “By exhibiting excellence in the classroom, on campus and throughout the community, they are our greatest ambassadors.”

As Meredith Professor of Chemistry and associate dean for science, mathematics and research, Spencer has received the Chancellor’s Citation for outstanding achievement in teaching, scholarship and creative work. Among his many accomplishments are founding SU's Forensic and National Security Sciences Institute; The College's Integrated Learning Program; the SU Project Advance Forensics Program; and the SU Brass Ensemble, of which he serves as music director and principal arranger.

Spencer has also received the Distinguished Achievements in Boron Science award for his seminal work in main group chemistry. He is a member of the New York Academy of Science and the American Academy of Forensic Science.

Other faculty members of note are Jon Zubieta, Distinguished Professor of Chemistry and winner of the William Wasserstrom Prize for the Teaching of Graduate Students, and Kathryn Everly, associate professor of Spanish literature and culture and recipient of the Prize for Excellence in Master’s Level Teaching. The Undergraduate Faculty Advisor award is being shared by Myrna García Calderón, associate professor of Spanish and interim director of the Latino-Latin American Studies Program, and Dan Zacharia, professor of mathematics.
Amanda Brown
Amanda Brown
Four non-tenured faculty members have received Meredith Teaching Recognition Awards: Amanda Brown, assistant professor of linguistics; Jonathan Hanson, assistant professor of political science; Mathew Maye, assistant professor of chemistry; and Gretchen Purser, assistant professor of sociology. Recipients are selected on the basis of teaching innovation, effectiveness in communicating with students and the lasting value of their courses.

Brown’s course, “Advanced Methods for Language Teaching” (LIN 422/622), was recognized for “Innovation in Academic Achievement” at the Chancellor’s Award for Public Engagement and Scholarship (CAPES) in April.

Other CAPES honorees were Ronald James-Terry Taylor ’15, this year’s Newman Civic Fellow; Felicia McMahon, research associate in the Department of Anthropology and recipient of the Inspiration Award; and Joseph Andrade IV ’13, Darcy Cherlin ’14, Alyssa Ierardo ’13, and Whitney Marin ’15, all of whom captured Chancellor’s Citations.

The College is well represented at SU’s Commencement ceremony, where both senior class marshals are from Arts and Sciences. Stephanie Kranz is a double major in mathematics and policy studies; Kishauna Soljour is a double major in African American studies and television-radio-film (Newhouse). Mallory Ringham, a double-major in physics and chemical engineering (L.C. Smith School of Engineering and Computer Science), has been selected as an alternate. The Scholar Speaker is Jaime Lynn Bernstein, a double major in chemistry and Spanish.

Nine of this year’s 12 SU Scholars—the University’s highest undergraduate academic honor—are affiliated with The College. They are Ryan Badman, Bernstein, Ian Carlino (also affiliated with the Newhouse School of Public Communications), David Carpenter (College of Visual and Performing Arts), Eric Davis, Karin Dolinsek (Newhouse), Anna Kahkoska, Dana Senderoff, and Soljour (Newhouse). SU Scholars will represent the entire graduating class at Commencement.

Jennifer Monti ’11, G’13, a master’s candidate in Spanish language, literature, and culture, has won SU’s Outstanding Master’s Student Award. Jessica Kuskey, Robyn Fielder and Shiladitya Banerjee—Ph.D. candidates in English, psychology, and physics, respectively—are recipients of SU’s Doctoral Prize.

The College is responsible for 22 of the 35 Remembrance Scholars. The scholarships were founded as a tribute to—and a means of remembering—the 35 students killed in the 1988 bombing of Pan Am Flight 103 over Lockerbie, Scotland. Remembrance Scholars are chosen during their junior year through a rigorous, competitive process.

The College of Arts and Sciences prepares students for the global workplace and for further study in post-baccalaureate and professional programs by providing a contemporary liberal arts curriculum that emphasizes interdisciplinary learning, research, service and enterprise.

Media Contact

Rob Enslin