Orange Alert

English Scholarships and Awards

Scholarships and Awards

Each spring the English Department names an outstanding junior ETS major as the winner of the Joan Garfinkel Memorial Scholarship. It also nominates one or more students for the Newell W. Rossman, Jr., Scholarships in the Humanities, which are awarded through an annual competition sponsored by the College of Arts and Sciences. The Margaret Y. Cragg Prize is awarded to the major with the highest grade point average in ETS courses at the end of the junior year. There are three prizes for graduating senior majors: the Jean Marie Richards Memorial Award for excellence in English, the Anthony J. Pietrafesa Prize for the highest average in ETS courses, and the Lauretta H. McCaffrey Prize for a female student with a high grade point average in ETS. The department also holds annual contests in the writing of fiction, poetry, and critical essays.