Orange Alert

Draft Diversity Action Plan Summary 2018

Prepared by: Kishi Animashaun Ducre, Ph.D.

Key Goals and Strategies
Goals Strategies
(1) Short-Term Goals
  • Establish Diversity Council
  • Conduct Diversity Audit & Develop Assessment Tools
  • Launch A&S Diversity Webpage
(2) DAP on Teaching & Learning
  • Hire an Associate Dean of Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion
  • Inclusive Teaching Workshops for Faculty
  • Diversity Training for Staff
  • Decolonizing the Syllabus Workshop (Summer Stipends for Participants)
  • Establish Diversity Council
  • Course Materials Accessibility Pilot Project
(3) DAP to Increase Diversity Through Hiring & Admissions
  • Best Practices in Inclusive Hiring Workshop
  • Workshop on Inclusive Graduate Admissions (Particularly in STEM)
  • Develop Pipeline Programs Through 4+1 Negotiations
  • Enhancing Campus Visits by URM
(4) Increase Diversity Through Retention
  • Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Plans by Department
  • URM Mentorship for Tenure-Track Faculty
  • Crisis Management Workshop for Department Chairs
(5) Address Historical Inequities
  • Service Sabbaticals
  • URM Mentorship Program for Associate Professors to Full
  • Diversity Leadership Awards (Individuals, Units, and Departments)
  • Intersectional Pay Equity Evaluation

Proposed Change to A&S By-Laws

Modify A&S by-laws with the following language to allow for the inclusion of a diversity council:

  • Revise Section IV, “Standing Committees,” by adding:
    K. The Committee on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
  • Revise Section V, “Committee Functions and Methods of Selection” by replacing subsection K, “Ad Hoc Committees…” with the following:
    K. The Committee on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion shall be responsible for review and feedback on the status of the College’s Diversity Plan. It shall be composed of at least 12 members appointed by the Deans, in consultation with the Associate Dean of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion and Associate Dean of Maxwell, who will serve as ex officio members of the Committee. It members will include representation from Department within all three divisions (Humanities, Social Sciences, and Natural Sciences [including Mathematics]) and include members from each category of stakeholders: students (both undergraduate and graduate), full-time faculty (tenured/tenure track, and non-tenure- track), part-time faculty and staff. Care will be taken to insure a diverse membership.